There are Lies, Damned Lies, and then there’s Mass Customisation

I remember back in my school years sitting for what was then known as a Commonwealth Scholarship exam.

It remains one of the best exams I have ever sat.

I loved the questions like

‘There are lies, damned lies, and statistics’…Discuss

Simple as that really.

I think I did my essay on Horse Racing and Betting Odds from memory.

My Dad was a bit of a gambler, as were a lot of ex WW2 lads.

I had noticed how favourites in races really had just as much chance as horses with odds of say 10/1.

So why am I telling you this? Because I got a Scholarship? Well yeah but nah, that’s not why.

Well I was researching Mass Customisation recently and I found this cute diagram.

 

 

Image

 

Apparently as far back as 1970, the futurist Alvin Toffler predicted its emergence.

Mass customization can be described as “enabling a customer to decide the exact specification of a product or service, and have that product or service supplied to them at a price close to that for an ordinary mass produced alternative”.

This is apparently how the craziness of an abundant world, full of failing mass manufacturing models, is now taking on the market place.

As if?

‘There are lies, damned lies, and then there’s Mass Customisation’…Discuss

Leave a Reply

