The Magic business of on-line business

Starting a business has never been easier thanks to the Digital Age.

Step 1

Well I’ve got my new fashion range (product) all photographed and uploaded to my e-commerce site and I’m open for business. My social marketing is firing. My ‘Likes’ are through the roof.

Step 2

I have done a whole lot of work, ruminated on my styling, my brand, my logo, my message, my target market, I’ve done my cash-flow projections. (I owe a bit for fabric and manufacture, of course, fortunately my mate did the website and she’s happy to contra the bill). My business plan is rock solid.

Step 3

Nothing is selling.

Umm…maybe this article will provide some insight.

Screen shot 2013-06-16 at 2.49.45 PM

http://www.linkedin.com/today/post/article/20130611180041-59549-the-no-1-job-skill-in-2020

Well said George, and it mirrors a set of axioms posed in Daniel Pink’s book

‘A Whole New Mind’

It’s impressive to note that it was written 8 years ago (when everyone was referring to a Left and Right Brain..but I’ll let that go through to the keeper)

Daniel poses these 3 questions to anyone starting a new enterprise

Screen shot 2013-06-16 at 2.34.07 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

I would add a 4th

4. Are you an expert, still learning, in your field of expertise ?

(start at 3.55 in)

If you answered YES to Q.1 & Q2… You will struggle

If you answered YES to Q.3 & Q4… You have a fighting chance.

Only a fighting chance.

No Magic.

One response to “The Magic business of on-line business

  1. Yes there is an assumption that ‘building it’ means they will come. Indeed someone on Twitter was lamenting this very thing this week. Sadly their ‘done’ website was just terrible. Images of products looked bad, the template was ugly and the site poorly optimsed for search or for people looking at the site, but perhaps worst of all … it had NO Story.

    Now it happens (much to my surprise since the website made no mention of it) that these were hand made goods that she creates.

    We don’t know if you don’t tell us.

Leave a Reply

